Frequently Asked Questions | St. Clair College

Please see the below frequently asked Blackboard questions:

Students are normally enrolled in your Blackboard course within 24 hours, or on the following business day after you receive notification that your Blackboard course for the current semester has been created. After that point and throughout the semester, students who officially enroll into the applicable class section(s) that you specified when you requested your Blackboard course (i.e. late adds) will be enrolled into your Blackboard course on the following business day after their official enrollment is processed. Note that only students who are officially enrolled in the course and class sections that you specified when you requested your Blackboard course will be enrolled in that course. If you after the fact that you have inadvertently omitted a class section in your Blackboard course request, or if a section has been added to your workload, you may request that those students be added to one of your existing Blackboard courses, or that another Blackboard course be created for those students by contacting IT Systems.

From your Control Panel, click Users and Groups > Users. There are two dropdown lists near the top of this page that give you a number of search options. If you ensure that the second dropdown list from the left is set to "Not blank", it should list all users in your Blackboard course, including yourself, your students, and any other co-instructors, etc. You may also search by username, last name, first name or email address by changing the first dropdown list option. After making any changes to the Search options that are available, you will need to click the Go button in order to bring up your search results...note that any changes you make to these options may be saved the next time that you go to this page.

There should be VERY few if any instances where you would have reason to manually add a student into your Blackboard course. This is because the process of enrolling students into your Blackboard course is done automatically each business day based on their official enrollments within PeopleSoft...this includes students who enroll late as well (late adds). In the event that you do need to manually add a student though because of timing issues, because a student was removed from your Blackboard course (inadvertently or otherwise), etc., you do have the ability to do so.

From your Control Panel, click Users and Groups > Users, then click Find Users to Enroll. At the next page do NOT enter anything into the Username field. It is advised that you instead click the Browse button, then ensure that the first dropdown list option is set to Username, the second dropdown list is set to anything BUT "Not blank". Next, type in the student's College email address and click Go. When the search results appear, choose that student by clicking on the checkbox option to the left of their name, then click Submit. When you arrive back at the Add Enrollments page, click Submit again.

Please note that if you receive a "No users found" message when searching for a student to add, it will mean one of two things...either the student is already enrolled in your Blackboard course (...not all that intuitive on Blackboard's part) It may also mean that the student does not have a Blackboard user account. If you suspect that a student does not have a Blackboard account because they have officially enrolled in your class section recently, then you may wish to wait until the following business day to verify that they have been automatically enrolled into your Blackboard course.

If a student drops your class section or if a class section is dropped from your course load, then you will need to either disable their access to your Blackboard course or remove them from your Blackboard course completely. Either one of these is a manual process that you would normally consider after the drop/add period has passed for the current semester. Note that removing a student from your Blackboard course also permanently removes any assignments, assessments, grades, etc. that they have submitted, so you would need to be careful about possibly removing the wrong student. Disabling a student's access to your course is safer, but it also leaves them as being listed within your course, which often is not convenient when managing or maintaining various areas of your course such as your grade centre, etc. If you are concerned about possibly removing any students in error, you may wish to consider disabling their access for a short time period such as two weeks, then removing them once you are sure it is safe to do so.

Disabling students' access to your Blackboard course:

From your Control Panel, click Users and Groups > Users. Using the various search options that are available, search for the student who has dropped, or bring up the entire list of students in your course. Click the dropdown button beside each student to be disabled, then choose Change User's Availability In Course. Click the Available option and choose No, then click Submit.

Removing students from your Blackboard course:

From your Control Panel, click Users and Groups > Users. Using the various search options that are available, search for the student who has dropped, or bring up the entire list of students in your course. Click the checkbox to the left of each student to be removed. Click the Remove Users From Course button.

Copying course contents from one of your previous Blackboard courses into a new course shell is relatively simple, but you need to be careful not to copy the student enrollments from the previous course as well. Please click here for more information on copying course contents.

New course sites are marked as being unavailable to your students by default. When your course is ready for your students to access, click on Customization > Properties from your Control Panel, scroll down to Set Availability, choose Yes for the Make Course Available option, then click Submit. You would also go to the same location at the end of the term when they are no longer required by your students to make them unavailable.

Blackboard course materials can be exported for storage for future access to course materials. Please click here for more information on exporting course materials.

If you find that your older courses listed gets to be cumbersome you may remove them from your list. Please click here for more information on removing them from your course list.